Magica Mima Umbra Puella

From RPGnetWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

MMUP is a PbP game on RPG.net, inspired by a Particular Anime Show , and using the Magical Burst system (3rd draft) by Ewen Cluney.

Alice Sara is the GM

Links[edit]

Combat Table[edit]

Name Initiative Attack Defense Support Resolve Power Points Seed Strain
Akemi 8 6(M)(0) 8(F)(0) 4(H)(0) 18
Chise 10 8(M) 3(H) 11(F) 3/22 22/22 Corruption
Chizuru 12 10(M) 6(F) 6(H) 26
Hoshiko 9 9(M)(0) 6(H)(0) 3(F)(0) 18
Hotaru 9 7(M)(0) 8(F)(0) 5(F)(0) 22
Miyuki 8 8(M) 4(F) 8(H) 18
Tomoe 12 10(M)(0) 4(F)(0) 8(H)(0) 26
Akasuki 9 9(H)(4) 5(M)(4) 4(F)(2) 8/18
Kirika 5 5(M) 6(H) 7(F) 18
Mitsuko 9 9(M) 8(H) 5(F) 22
Souka 5 5(F) 8(H) 5(F) 22
Suzume 4 4(M) 5(F) 9(H) 2/18
Nadie 11 9H(0) 11M(0) 13F(2) 46/46

House Rules[edit]

General[edit]

  • Moves vs PCs and important NPCs are almost always Opposed, rather than vs a static number, the degree of success determines the result based on the static version.
  • See Fallout changes below.
  • Dead or abandoned Magical Girls can be replaced. You keep all your XP, but lose 1d6 of your accumulated Oblivion Seeds.
  • If a target is hit by a Debilitating Attack, it only adds +2 for passive Defense, instead of +4.
  • The Cover move takes an action, but you can Cover as many people during the round as you want to. If you have a Relationship with the target, you can Cover them without spending your action, or even after you've acted.
  • You can use reckless attack after Initiative has been decided, but you can't use it to act faster than someone who has already gone. You can't reduce your Defense below zero.

Overcharge[edit]

  • Overcharge. There are several changes to how Overcharge is handled.
    • Gaining Overcharge
      • Before rolling for a Magical Challenge, declare if you're risking Overcharge. If you do, rolls of a '6' will lead to additional rolls, and accumulate Overcharge. If you don't want to risk Overcharge, then roll as normal, but do not roll extra dice if you roll a '6'. You can decide to risk Overcharge after you see your initial roll.
      • If you accumulate Overcharge from using an ability, or to gain a bonus, you automatically risk further Overcharge. This means, for example, that any use of a Finisher risks Overcharge
      • Any attempt to Use Magic for Non-Magic Tasks is automatically risky.
    • Removing Overcharge
      • You can cleanse yourself of Overcharge on one Attribute completely by shattering an Oblivion Seed in your possession.
      • If you're in Battle with a Youma, you may voluntarily roll only a single d6 for a Challenge against the Youma. This roll can't risk Overcharge. If you succeed at your Challenge, reduce your Overcharge on the related Attribute by one.
      • If you're in Battle with a Youma, you may expel Overcharge at any time. You can only expel Overcharge equal to the amount that the Youma is currently under its maximum Power Points. For each point of Overcharge that's expelled, the Youma regains 1 Power Point and 1d6 Resolve.

Fallout[edit]

  • Fallout. There are several changes to Fallout.
    • Fallout up to level 3 is as per the rules.
    • At level 4-5, roll on the Flare table as per normal, but replace results 4-5 and 6 with the following
      • 4-5 Lock: The Overcharged Attribute becomes locked. While the Lock is in effect, the affected Attribute must be allocated in combat as follows:
          • Heart: Defense
          • Fury: Attack
          • Magic: Support
        • Furthermore, the Locked Attribute informs all of the characters actions. How they act, react, and deal with people should be colored by the Attribute. If they have a choice as to which Attribute they can use for a Challenge, they must use the Locked Attribute, if possible. If multiple Attributes are locked, they can choose among them. The Lock persists for one scene.
        • Alternately, instead of suffering a Lock, you may take a Temporary Change (self), as normal. You can just invent your own Change, roll, or use the table for inspiration.
      • 6 Hypercharge: The Overcharged Attribute becomes Hypercharged. All Challenges made with it automatically risk Overcharge. You also can't voluntarily roll a single die in Battle to reduce the Overcharge on a Hypercharged Attribute. If you use the Attribute to Use Magic for Non-Magic Tasks, you automatically transform. If you actually spend Overcharge for bonus dice on challenges using the Hypercharged Attribute, you roll additional dice, and gain additional Overcharge, on a 5-6 instead of a 6. The Hypercharge persists for one scene. In addition, their energy leaks into the environment around them, causing a Distortion, as per level 2, except that the Distortions effect Normal People around you, rather than yourself. If you're carrying 3 or more Overcharge on an already Hypercharged attribute, the Distortions are level 3. A person with multiple Hypercharged Attributes will behave as a mix of those, as best they can.
        • Instead of Hypercharge, you may take a Temporary Change (Other), as normal. You can just invent your own Change, roll, or use the table for inspiration.
      • You may spend 1 Oblivion Seed to immediately remove the effect of a Lock, Hypercharge, or Temporary Change, either on yourself, or another.
      • If an attribute is already Locked, it becomes Hypercharged, and vice versa. If it's already Locked and Hypercharged, or if you have any two Temporary Conditions (i.e. a Change and a Lock, etc.) on the Attribute, treat it as level 6-7.
    • At Level 6-7, roll 1d6. On a 1-3, the Attribute becomes permanently Locked; on a 4-6 It becomes permanently Hypercharged.
      • Alternately, you can take a Permanent Change as per the rules. You can just invent your own Change, roll, or use the table for inspiration.
      • If your Attribute is already Locked, it becomes Hypercharged as well, and vice versa. If your Attribute is already Locked and Hypercharged, or if you have any two Permanent Conditions (i.e. a Change and a Lock, etc.) on that Attribute, use the rules for level 8+ (Burst).
      • You may spend 3 Oblivion Seeds to remove a permanent Lock, Hypercharge, or Change, either on yourself, or another.
    • For levels 8 and above, follow the normal rules.

Oblivion Seeds[edit]

  • If an Oblivion Seed is left unattended, it will eventually hatch into a PL2 Youma.
  • If an Oblivion Seed is used to purge Overcharge, it creates 1 PL1 Youma per point of Overcharge.
  • If Oblivion Seeds are used to reverse a temporary or permanent condition, they create 3 PL1 Youma per Seed used.

Player Characters[edit]

Cast Picture (c) Maleski

NPCs[edit]

Places[edit]

The Contract[edit]

  • You agree to a Contract between Yourself and the World, as represented by Aikireikinu.
  • As part of this Contact:
    • You agree that you are part of the World, and are bound by the Nature of the World.
    • You agree to accept Magical Power.
    • You agree to use your Power in whatever way you find fun.
  • As an incentive to fight Youma, you can earn Wishes by collecting Oblivion Seeds.
    • Wishes can only be granted by Myself, Aikireikinu, acting as the agent of the World.
  • There are several Disclaimers. Please listen to them carefully.
    • There are Youma, terrible monsters, in the World, born of the World, and part of the World. They prey on humans.
    • Youma can't be perceived by normal people, only by Magical Girls, and those that have the potential to become Magical Girls.
    • Only Magical Girls can harm Youma.
    • It's unknown why some people can or can't become Magical Girls.
    • Only girls can become Magical Girls. They age normally after their transformation.
    • Defeated Youma sometimes drop Oblivion Seeds. If you collect 13, you'll have the power to make a single Wish. Some wishes require more than 13 Oblivion Seeds. If you don't have enough Oblivion Seeds, the ones you do have will shatter and be wasted.
    • Being a Magical Girl is dangerous. Beyond fighting Youma, using magic taps into the same place that Youma come from. If you overuse magic, it can cause permanent changes in you, or cause wide spread destruction, or even turn you into a Youma. Magic can also have unpleasant environmental effects, so you should try not to use too much around normal people.
    • Once you become a Magical Girl, it's not necessary for you to fight. You can just use your magic for yourself if you want. But you will be a little more likely to attract the attention of Youma, so a completely quiet life probably isn't possible. Of course, if you want a Wish, then you have to fight.
    • While its not very nice, you can kill Magical Girls and extract some of the Oblivion Seeds they've collected.
    • Magical Girls can willingly give away Oblivion Seeds.

Corrupted Seeds[edit]

Certain Witches can use their Curse power to corrupt Oblivion Seeds. Corrupted Seeds have the following effects:

  • Each Corrupted Seed in a Nightmare increases the Youma's PL by 1.
  • If there are Corrupted Seeds in a Nightmare when a Youma is defeated, it leaves behind Corrupted Seeds.
  • If Corrupted Seeds are used to purge Overcharge or reverse a condition caused by Fallout, the resulting Youma are PL2.
  • Corrupted Seeds can only be used to make Curses. If there is even 1 Corrupted Seed used to make a Wish, it becomes a Curse.
  • A Corrupted Seed left unattended will eventually hatch into a PL4 Youma.

Witches and Curses, Saints and Wishes, Deva and Asura[edit]

Witches[edit]

Wishes that are made to selfishly cause harm, are called Curses. A Magical Girl that makes a Curse becomes a Witch (Majo). As a Witch, some things change.

  • She can never make a Wish; from now on all her Wishes must be Curses.
  • Corrupted Seeds do not boost the power of Youma she faces, unless she wants them to.
  • She gains a Curse power (determined by the GM).
    • If a Witch makes another Curse, she can choose to keep her current Curse power, or accept the new one (but she has to decide before she knows what it is).
  • A Wish, made by someone else, can turn a Witch back into a Magical Girl. The cost in Seeds is determined by how strongly the Witch regrets her Curse.
  • If a Witch is put in a situation where she would become a Youma, something terrible happens.

Saints[edit]

Wishes that are made for some benefit (or, at least, not to cause harm), are proper Wishes. A Magical Girl that makes a Wish becomes a Magical Saint (Maseijo). As a Magical Saint, some things change.

  • She gains a Wish Power (determined by the GM).
    • If a Magical Saint makes another Wish, she can choose to keep her current Wish power, or accept the new one (but she has to decide before she knows what it is).
  • A Magical Saint can never accumulate more than 7 Overcharge on an Attribute. She only risks a Burst if her current condition forces her to Burst at the 7 Overcharge level (see Fallout).
    • If she would normally gain Overcharge that would push her over 7, immediately resolve Fallout for 7 Overcharge. Instead of dropping to zero after the Fallout, it drops to whatever the excess Overcharge was.
      • Example: If Maseijo Koumori gains a total of 9 Overcharge in Fury in one event, she resolves level 7 Fallout and her Fury Overcharge drops to 2.
  • If a Magical Saint makes a Curse, something terrible happens.

Deva[edit]

A Deva uses Magic differently than a Magical Girl, Witch, Magical Saint, or Asura. They may take Overcharge voluntarily, up to the usual 3 die limit, use Finishers, Magical Effects, etc., as normal.

They do not generate Overcharge from die rolls, but still benefit from rolling a '6' as normal.

They may not carry more Overcharge on an Attribute than half that attribute (round up). A Deva automatically loses one point of Overcharge from each attribute each round while in battle, and loses all Overcharge after a short while out of battle. A Deva can never take Fallout, voluntarily or otherwise.

If a Deva wants to take Overcharge, but is already at her limit on an attribute, she may do so, at a cost. Each point of Overcharge above her limit generates a point of Attachment. Furthermore, if she takes Attachment as part of a Challenge roll (attack, defense, using a finisher, etc), any '6's rolled will also generate a point of Attachment.

A Deva may only accumulate Attachment up to value of her highest Magical Attribute. If she goes over this limit, she becomes an Asura. She may remove Attachment by defeating Youma, removing Attachment equal to half the Power Level (round up) of the Youma. She may also remove Attachment by bettering the lives of people in some other way, generally 1-3 points depending in the scale of the deed.

A Deva may also use Attachment to perform minor miracles:

  • 1 Attachment may be used to purify a Corrupted Seed.
  • 1 Attachment may be used to reverse a Temporary Condition in another person
  • 3 Attachment may be used to reverse a Permanent Condition in another person
  • 3 Attachment may be used to remove all Overcharge from everyone in the immediate area, except herself or another Deva
  • Other uses are possible, cost based on what the GM thinks is approriate.

A Deva can not be altered by the World or its Agents.

A Deva may make Wishes, but not Curses. They do not gain a different Wish power when they make a Wish.

Asura[edit]

  • Rules
    • Overcharge
      • Asura can not voluntarily take Overcharge, nor do they accumulate Overcharge.
      • Asura may take Overcharge from other people and use it as Overcharge for their own purposes, such as using Finishers, Magic Effects, or boosting rolls. They may do this in reaction to another person's action as soon as Overcharge occurs (and in fact must, with Youma, since Youma don't accumulate Overcharge).
      • Asura may store Overcharge up to 1/2 their highest Magical Attribute (round up).
    • Chaos Charge
      • If an external event creates Overcharge (usually Youma with the Overcharge Radiation ability), and the Asura was not directly responsible for the event, the Asura may absorb up to the total of their Magical Attributes and store it as Chaos Charge.
      • An Asura may convert 2 points of Overcharge into 1 point of Chaos Charge
      • An Asura may convert 2 points of Chaos Charge into 1 point of Overcharge
      • Chaos Charge may be required to use certain Curse Powers.
      • 1 point of Chaos Charge may be used to recover 1d6+3 Resolve
      • 1 point of Chaos Charge may be used to create an Oblivion Seed (or Corrupted Seed if the Asura's Curse Power allows).
      • Chaos Charge may be used to increase either the Power Level or Magical Girl Number of a Youma, costing 1 point rank of increased value (going from PL2 to PL3 costs 3 Chaos Charge, for example).
      • 2 Chaos Charge may be spent to allow the Asura to use any Finisher or Effect once. They still need to pay the usual Overcharge costs as well.
    • Resolve
      • Asura have Resolve equal to their base as if they were Magical Girls, plus the sum of their Magical Attributes.
    • Nature
      • Effects that specify Magical Girls or Youma do not effect Asura.
      • Asura may not make Wishes or Curses.
      • Asura always have a Curse Power, even if they were never a Witch. If they had a Wish power before becoming an Asura, it becomes a Curse Power, there is no option to keep their former power.
      • Asura can not be altered by the World or its Agent.

Episodes[edit]

Fansubs[edit]

The Language of the World